It is very important to speak with a competent attorney as soon as possible after being involved in a motor vehicle accident. In New York, you only have 30 days to file a no-fault application that can dramatically help with payment for critical medical care. You must file a personal injury law suit within three years from the date of a collision. If you are seeking to sue New York State, you only have two years to file the claim. If you are seeking to sue a municipality (e.x. town) or government agency, then you may need to file important legal documents within 90 days and commence a suit within one year thereafter. If someone dies as a result of a car accident, a wrongful death proceeding would be more appropriate.
It is critical that you consult with an attorney before speaking to insurance companies, police, or witnesses. From the moment a collision occurs, you should speak with an attorney regarding your rights and options. Even if you are partially responsible for the collision, you may still be entitled to recover damages that you sustained from the accident. Let us fight insurance companies to get you the help you deserve.